Pure-Metal: Terraphobia

Thanks to Untombed for opening my eyes to yet another amazing band: Terraphobia. The band plays a technical, very aggressive, thrash metal style with some death metal spice thrown into the mix. This isn’t your run of the mill scene-core, drop-c-core, open-chord-chug-core, or any ____-core that has infested the scene as of late. This is metal in its purest form. So if you bought that new “metal” album with “sick breakdowns” and “killer bass drops”, do yourself a favor and go to this website, turn up your computer’s volume to infinity, and listen until you understand what real Pure-Metal sounds like. Then go tell your friends.

Terraphobia began as a band called Lethal Dose in 1985. They released a few demos under that name, before changing its name to Terraphobia and its style to a more aggressive metal version. They released some albums in the 90’s and early 00’s, then took a ten year break before they released “Evilution” which is available here (you have to buy it from Australia).  I’ve used the word they when referring to Terraphobia, but from what I gather the band is basically Mike Jelinic. Who, if your not familiar with the name, is the second longest standing member in the legendary band Mortification (Christian Big 4).

So, check this band out then come back here and tell me why your metal band is better. Also, where are these bands in the US? It seems every time I find a sweet new metal band they’re from some other country and I can’t get their album unless I convert my dollars to yen or something.

Comments
3 Responses to “Pure-Metal: Terraphobia”
  1. Jason says:

    Not bad. There were a few moments where I heard some As They Sleep, but pretty good overall.

  2. Todd says:

    I think you heard a little Terraphobia in As They Sleep;)

    Both bands both play some killer music.

  3. Jason says:

    Todd: You’re quite right, given that Terraphobia has been around quite a bit longer than ATS!

Leave a comment