Sounds Like Chicken Tastes Like Deftones.

As I’m posting this I have the new Reform the Resistance album “The Truth Is Dangerous” playing in the background. Its streaming over at DecoyMusic go check it out. First, let me say I am really enjoying it. People may remember Reform the Resistance as rapcore/rap-rock band Justifide. I remember catching Justifide at Sonshine festival as a kid and thinking they were the greatest thing in the world. This new album by RtR still sounds like Justfide, just a much more musically mature Justifide.

Second, as the song “Mercy In Blood” was playing I caught myself thinking of the Deftones. Now I’m not a great Deftones mind, but their influence is all over this song (isn’t it?). Furthermore I caught myself thinking Deftones multiple other times throughout this album. Now I’m not saying Reform the Resistance is a Deftones clone or anything like that, it just got me thinking. It seems Bands get compared to Deftones more than just about any other band, at least in the reviews I read. It seems I read this comparison so often that Deftones have become like the “chicken” of music. Not to say that the Deftones are bland or anything like that, rather their influence is so far reaching everything begins to “taste” like them or contain some hint of their sound. I don’t think many people will argue the Deftones artistic influence and musical impact across the hard rock and metal spectrum, so these types of comparisons are expected. But My question is this; who do you see as the “Chicken” of todays hard rock/metal scene? Who do you see as “heavily influenced by ____” the most?

Also, seriously, go check out the Reform The Resistance album. Then come back here and lay down your thoughts on RtR and reminisce over  the old days of Justifide. The new album has been available for MP3 download since April 26 at all the usual digital outlets. Also it was supposed to be released in a physical version today (May 17) on Wuli Records , but doesnt seem to be available yet.

Comments
2 Responses to “Sounds Like Chicken Tastes Like Deftones.”
  1. Patton says:

    The Deftones get a lot of play as an influence on just about any record that has ambient hardcore elements. A lot of Deftones talk about the new Underoath record that I didn’t really get.

    The entire metalcore scene in it’s current state is influenced by Underoath. I know Killswitch Engage and In Flames were the godfathers of modern metalcore (Swedish riffs an clean vocal choruses) but They’re Only Chasing Safety seems to be the album that young bands have grabbed as their influenc.

  2. Neurosis and Isis are two others you hear/read a lot as being an influence. Both bands definitely influenced my taste in music.

Leave a comment